Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Returning Resident Visa (SB-1)

Please read the following information concerning returning resident visas very carefully before proceeding with an application and fee payment.  If, after careful review of that information, you wish to be considered for returning resident status, you should complete and submit to the AIT Immigrant Visa Unit form DS 117, together with any available documents to substantiate information given on the form. You must also pay a fee of US$180.  Please note that this fee is non-refundable and is in addition to any subsequent fees you will be required to pay as part of the visa application if you are determined to have returning resident status.

To apply, you must make an appointment.  Please contact the Immigrant Visa Unit via email visaiv-ait@state.gov, or fax: 886-2-2162-2253.  An appointment will be scheduled within 2-3 working days after we receive the request.

You should submit the forms, fees, and documents in person to the window number three of the Immigrant Visa Unit on the appointment date.  You must include in your packet the followings:

  1. A completed and signed form DS 117;
  2. Alien Registration Receipt Card (Green Card), Form I-151 or I-551; 
  3. Reentry Permit, Form I-327 (if you obtained one);
  4. All your old and new passports;
  5. Statement to explain the situation which was beyond your control;
  6. Documentation of abovementioned situation such as medical records, etc;
  7. US$180 (or NT$ equivalent) in cash.

You will be informed concerning you eligibility to apply for a returning resident visa after your DS-117 form and documents have been reviewed and a decision is reached.  A visa appointment can only be scheduled if your application results in a determination of returning resident status.  You will need to submit additional documents and fees at the time of this appointment.

Overview - About Returning Resident Visas

A permanent resident (called lawful permanent resident or LPR) or conditional resident (CR) who has remained outside the U.S. for longer than one year, or beyond the validity period of a Re-entry Permit, will require a new immigrant visa to enter the U.S. and resume permanent residence. A provision exists under U.S. visa law for the issuance of a returning resident special immigrant visa to an LPR who remained outside the U.S. due to circumstances beyond his/her control. This webpage is about Returning Resident Visas. If you are an LPR unable to return to the U.S. within the travel validity period of the green card (1 year) or the validity of the Re-entry Permit (2 years), you may be eligible and can apply at the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate for a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa.

If your application for returning resident status is approved, this eliminates the requirement that an immigrant visa petition be filed on your behalf with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). You will need to be interviewed for both your application for returning resident status, and usually later for the immigrant visa. An SB-1 applicant is required to establish eligibility for an immigrant visa and have a medical examination. Therefore, this involves paying both visa processing fees and medical fees.

Spouse or Child of a Member of the U.S. Armed Forces or Civilian Employee of the U.S. Government Stationed Abroad - If you are the spouse or child of a member of the U.S. Armed Forces or of a civilian employee of the U.S. Government stationed abroad on official orders, you may use your Permanent Resident Card, Form I-551, to enter the U.S. even if it has expired. Therefore, you would not need a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa, as long as you:

  • Have not abandoned your LPR status; and
  • Your spouse or parent is returning to the U.S.

 Step 1 - Qualifying for Returning Resident Status

Under provisions of immigration law, to qualify for returning resident status, you will need to prove to the Consular Officer that you:

  • Had the status of a lawful permanent resident at the time of departure from the U.S.;
  • Departed from the U.S. with the intention of returning and have not abandoned this intention; and
  • Are returning to the U.S. from a temporary visit abroad and, if the stay abroad was protracted, this was caused by reasons beyond your control and for which you were not responsible.

Applying for a Returning Resident Visa

If you wish to apply for a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa, you should do so at AIT Taipei in advance of your intended travel (at least three months in advance, if possible) to permit sufficient time for visa processing. As part of the visa application process, an interview at AIT Taipei is required.

Required Documentation

When applying for a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa, you should submit the following forms and documents:

  • A completed Application to Determine Returning Resident Status, Form DS-117
  • Your Permanent Resident Card, Form -551
  • Your Re-entry Permit, if available

You must also submit supporting documents that show the following:

  • Dates of travel outside of the U.S. (Examples: airline tickets, passport stamps, etc.)
  • Proof of your ties to the U.S. and your intention to return (Examples: tax returns, and evidence of economic, family, and social ties to the U.S.)
  • Proof that your protracted stay outside of the U.S. was for reasons beyond your control (Examples: medical incapacitation, employment with a U.S. company, accompanying a U.S. citizen spouse, etc.)

A Consular Officer will review your application and supporting documents to determine whether you meet the criteria for Returning Resident (SB-1) status. If you do, you must be eligible for the immigrant visa in all other respects in order to be issued a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa.

Required Fees

The following are the required fees:

  • Application for Determining Returning Resident Status, Form DS-117. Select Fees for current Department of State fees.  (US$180 as of September 12, 2014)

Additionally, if you are approved for Returning Resident (SB-1) status, the following fees will be required based on the immigrant visa processing explained below:

  • Immigrant visa application processing fee (US$205 as of September 12, 2014)
  • Medical exam and vaccination fees

Step 2 – Immigrant Visa Application and Documentation

 

 

AIT Taipei will provide you with specific instructions for the remainder of the processing for your Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa. These instructions will include:

 

 

Before your interview:

  • Instructions for your medical examination, including a list of required vaccinations

Instructions for your interview, including the following documentation to bring:

  • DS-260 (Online Application for Immigrant Visa and Alien Registration), and bring the printout of DS-260 confirmation page to the visa interview;
  • Original passport;
  • Two photographs, meeting photo guidelines;
  • Other civil documents

If Your Application to Determine Returning Resident Status is Not Approved

If, after reviewing your Application to Determine Returning Resident Status, Form DS-117, and supporting documents, the Consular Officer determines that you do not meet the criteria for a Returning Resident (SB-1) immigrant visa on the grounds that you have abandoned or relinquished your residence in the U.S., it may or may not be possible to obtain a nonimmigrant visa depending on whether you have established a residence abroad to which you will return. If you cannot submit convincing evidence of compelling ties abroad, you may have to apply for an immigrant visa on the same basis and under the same category by which you immigrated originally.

About International Travel and Permanent Residents

As a permanent resident, before you depart the U.S. for temporary travel abroad and then seek to return to the U.S., you should review important information on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) websites. Learn about Travel Documents, including Re-Entry Permits and Form I-131, Application for Travel Document, on the USCIS website. For information for permanent residents returning to the U.S. from travel abroad, review the CBP website.

Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
回美居民簽證 SB-1

您在進行案件申請和繳費前,請仔細閱讀下列有關於回美居民簽證的說明。

在仔細閱讀說明後,如果您決定提出回美居民身份之申請,請填妥DS-117表格並檢附所有相關的證明文件,以證實表內所填資料,於申請時一併提供至美在台協會移民組。您須繳付此項申請費用美金180元。請注意此項申請費用是無法退還的,除此之外,若您被確認具返美居民資格,您尚須繳付之後移民簽證的任何費用。

自2013年1月14日開始,申請回美居民簽證之申請人必須事先預約。請與移民簽證科以電子郵件 visaiv-ait@state.gov聯繫。申請人於約定時間,請親至移民簽證科2號窗口提送下列表格、費用及文件。

  1. DS-117回美居民申請表,逐項填妥並簽名。
  2. I-151 或I-551外國人登記卡( 綠卡)
  3. I-327返美證,俗稱白皮書(如果你持有返美證)
  4. 你所有的舊護照及新護照
  5. 書面聲明書解釋該狀況為情非得已 (須用英文)
  6. 證明上述狀況之證明書 ,例如:醫院診斷證明書
  7. 費用美金180元(或等值新台幣)

本組審查你的DS-117申請表及文件後 ,即會做出決定並告知您是否合於返美居民之資格。如果申請結果確認您符合返美居民身份之資格,您將會被安排之後的簽證面談。在面談時您須進一步提供相關文件及繳付費用。

(張貼日期:2015/11/23,移民簽證科) 

概論:有關回美居民簽證

永久居民﹝又稱永久居留權或綠卡持有人﹞或有條件的居民﹝CR﹞,長期居住在美國境外的時間超過一年或超過回美許可證的效期者,將需要一個新的移民簽證再進入美國和恢復繼續永久居留‧根據美國簽證法規定,簽發給回美居民特別的簽證針對美國永久居民滯留在境外係因個人無法控制的情況。 本網頁有關回美居民簽證。 如果您是永久居留權持有者,在綠卡規定的效期﹝一年﹞或回美許可證的效期﹝二年﹞無法回美,您可能有資格向最近的美國大使館或領事館辦理回美居民﹝SB-1﹞的特別移民簽證。

如果您的回美居民身份申請被批准,將省卻須向美國國土安全部﹝DHS﹞,美國公民及暨移民服務局﹝USCIS﹞提出移民簽證申請的程序。您將需要為提出回美居民申請書和後續的回美居民簽證申請而面談。每一位回美居民﹝SB-1﹞的申請人為符合移民簽證資格,需完成體格檢查。因此包含繳交簽證手續費和體格檢查費。

美國政府駐外的美軍部隊或文職僱員的配偶或子女- 如果你是美軍部隊或文職僱員,美國政府駐外人員的配偶或子女,您可以使用您的永久居留權卡,I-551,進入美國即使它已經過期。因此,您可以不需要回美居民﹝SB-1﹞的簽證,只要您:

  • 未曾放棄您的永久居留身份;且
  • 您的配偶或父母已回美

步驟1 – 合格的回美居民身分

根據移民法規定,為合於回美居民身份,您須向領事官證明:

  • 在離開美國時仍擁有合法的居留權身份;
  • 離開美國時仍有回美的意願且未曾有放棄的意圖,以及
  • 離開美國只為短暫的訪問,而且,停留境外時間的延滯,係因個人無法控制的原因且無法承擔此責任。

申請回美居民簽證

如果您想申請回美居民簽證,您應該提前在預計前往美國﹝至少三個月前,如果可能﹞與美國在台協會台北辦事處聯繫,以便有足夠的時間辦理簽證,在美國在台協會的面談是簽證辦理必須的過程。

需要準備的文件

申請回美居民﹝SB-1﹞的移民簽證,您必須提交下列表格及文件至您將提出申請的美國大使館或領事館:

  • 一份完整的申請書以確定您的回美居民身份,DS-117表
  • 您的永久居留權卡,I-551
  • 您的返美許可證,如果有

您也必須提交證明文件能顯示下列:

  • 上次自美國出境的日期﹝例如:機票,護照出入境章,等等‧‧‧﹞
  • 證明您在美國的約束力和您回到美國的意願﹝例如:納稅申報,和證明在美國的經濟,家庭和社會的聯繫﹞
  • 證明您的長期居留在美國以外的原因是您本身無法掌控的﹝例如:不能抗拒的醫療需要,受僱於某家美國公司,伴隨美國公民身份的配偶,等等‧‧‧﹞

領事官員將審核您的申請和證明文件,以確定您是否符合回美居民﹝SB-1﹞身份的標準。如果可以,您必須在合於所有移民簽證的資格下,才能獲得核發回美居民(SB-1)的移民簽證。

所需費用

以下為所需的費用:

  • 申請確認具有回美居民身份,表格DS - 117。點選費用
    目前美國國務院所訂定之費用。 (自2014年9月12日起為美元180)

此外,如果您被批准具有回美居民(SB - 1)的身份,您尚須繳交以下費用。依據移民簽證手續說明如下:

  • 移民簽證申請手續費用(自2014年9月12日起為美元205)
  • 醫療檢查和疫苗接種費用

步驟2 -  移民簽證申請及文件

台北美國在台協會將提供您處理您回美居民(SB - 1)移民簽證申請之其他具體說明,這些說明包括:

在你面談前:

  • 體檢說明,包括所需預防接種之列表

面談說明,下列需要攜帶之文件:

如果您的回美居民身份申請未獲批准

如果,在審查您回美居民身份申請,表格DS - 117,和證明文件之後,領事官員決定,你不符合回美居民的移民簽證(SB - 1)資格,理由是您已經拋棄或放棄您在美國居所。非移民簽證之申請無法預知,有可能獲發亦有可能不獲得非移民簽證,將取決於您是否已在國外設立了一個您將會返回居住之國外居所。如果您不能提交具說服力的證據及令人信服的國外關係,你可能要根據您最初移民之同一基礎及類別,重新再次申請移民簽證。

關於國際旅行和永久居民

身為一個永久居民,在您離開美國到國外短暫旅行並預備返回美國之前,您應該查閱在美國公民及移民服務局(USCIS)和美國海關和邊境保護局(CBP)網站之重要資訊。經由移民局的網站了解有關旅行證件,包括回美許可證及表格I – 131,申請旅行證件。永久居民由國外旅行後,欲返回美國之資訊,請查閱CBP網站

〈張貼日期:2015/11/23,移民簽證科〉